27 April 2018

Olivia Bennett, our joint Dux in 2017, has won the prestigious Sir Douglas Myers scholarship to study at Cambridge University in the UK.

The 18-year-old top scholar will read Economics at Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge – one the world’s top universities.

John Taylor, convenor of the scholarship selection committee, said: “Olivia is not only a very talented scholar, but also has excellent all-round interests and abilities, which will serve her very well at Cambridge.”

Olivia completed a calculus paper at the University of Auckland last year, while studying for eight scholarship papers at St Cuthbert’s. She topped the College for History, Physics and Statistics in 2017, and was first in History, Spanish and English in 2016.

She was also highly commended as governor of the College’s Year 13 Reserve Bank team in the National Monetary Policy Challenge. Olivia said: “Economics will equip me to work in successful and challenging corporations in my future career. It will also assist in my ultimate aim to establish and run a profitable social enterprise. I would also continue to engage in oratory and debating pursuits, as this will be the basis of a future political career back in New Zealand.”

Sir Douglas Myers set up the scholarship in 2000 for academically gifted New Zealand students to go to Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge. The late Sir Douglas’ hope was that those students would return home to become leaders in their chosen field. The $60,000 a year scholarship is for university fees and living costs.

Applications for the 2019 Sir Douglas Myers Scholarship are now open.





26 April 2018

We welcomed Former Black Sticks Julia King, Tash Fitzsimons and Jordan Grant and former Silver Ferns captain Bernice Mene to St Cuthbert’s for the 3-day Anzac Festival.

The former Black Sticks played for the Old Girls and beat the tournament team 4-2. Bernice was guest speaker at the festival dinner in Clouston Hall afterwards.

Thanks to everyone from schools nationwide who took part.


6 April 2018


Our runners are bringing home bronze medals after finishing third in the girls’ schools team event at the ISF World Cross Country Champs in Paris.

All six girls ran a great race to gain this exceptional result. The medal ceremony will take place on Friday.

Well done Isabella Richardson, Chloe Browne, Bella Browne, Emily Hacket Pain, Claire Rees and Emma Hamilton who ran their hearts out. We are so proud of their achievement and team spirit. Here they are pictured below with non-travelling reserve Elliette O’Brien.


6 April 2018

Our annual school musical The Wiz, which runs until April 8, is a smash hit.

Our four friends: Dorothy, the Tin Man, Lion, Scarecrow, are off down the yellow brick road. Join them on their adventures.

Tickets are still available for selected performances; click here to book.









2 March 2018

We’re celebrating stellar academic results for 2017. Xanthe Copeland credits our Personalised Learning Centre for helping her on her journey to gain top marks in the NZQA Design Scholarship.


Xanthe missed her mock exams catching up on her Design portfolio after being in China competing in the Youth Sailing World Championships.


But despite her heavy workload and sporting commitments, Xanthe gained full marks, 24/24, in the NZQA Design Scholarships, finishing top in the country.


Xanthe’s Design project was close to her heart because it depicted her journey of learning to learn with dyslexia supported by the Personalised Learning Centre at St Cuthbert’s College.


Xanthe, 18, said: “I live with dyslexia and my art boards were all about the background to that, so to be recognised for something that is so important to me is overwhelming.”

Classmate Lydia Harden-Bull also gained high marks in Design Scholarship scoring 22/24.


Lydia, 18, said: “You don’t expect to do so well because you know there are so many talented Design students.”


Both students benefited from staff at the Personalised Learning Centre who embraced their diverse learning needs and encouraged them to progress in their own way.


Xanthe said: “I came to the College in Year 7 and went through The Cottage and benefited from having extra help whenever I needed it.”


Lydia, who has mild dyslexia, said: “My parents saw I was struggling in the early years and sent me to St Cuthbert’s in Year 1. A got a lot of support and extra help which really set me up for Years 7 and 8 and High School. At The Cottage, we supported each other and the teachers celebrated our achievement. The teachers encouraged me and I pushed myself to step and try my best.”


Xanthe is now studying for a Design and Business Degree at Victoria University. Lydia is at AUT doing a Communication Design degree. Both also gained NZQA Scholarships in Painting.


Xanthe plans to continue sailing at top level in a bid for Olympic glory. Meanwhile, she proud that her Design boards have been recognised as a platform to champion and celebrate dyslexia. She said: “I have always thought that I have an obligation to show those who aren’t as fortunate as me to realise they have potential. The teaching at St Cuth’s is incredible; the teachers have a real passion for what they do and for the students.”


Lydia, who directed Shakespeare Soiree and was a key organiser for Stage Challenge, advises diverse learners to choose subjects they are passion about. She chose pottery for her Design project.


Xanthe said: “I did Visual English and had an incredible teacher and did really well. I then realised I could do the thing I was worse at. Once I could turn my weakness into a strengthen, I viewed things in a different way.”


She advises fellow diverse learners: “You should embrace your way of learning. Figure out what works for you and do that.”