Our Teachers


“The one exclusive sign of thorough knowledge is the power of teaching.” – Aristotle


A great teacher can inspire joy, ignite imagination and instil a life-long love of learning. Spend 10 minutes with any St Cuthbert’s teacher and you will see for yourself an extraordinary commitment and passion for our work and the girls we guide.


The experience and expertise our teachers bring are of immense value to the College, and many are leaders in their own fields – all the better to inspire enthusiasm in our students.


St Cuthbert’s College staff frequently receive teaching awards, academic achievements and professional development opportunities. Here are some of our stories:


Junior School Staff – Professional Development

The College’s Junior School staff have taken part in the Ministry of Education professional development initiative, Assessment for Learning. This promotes successful learning and aims to have students taking a greater role in the process.


Achieving certification as a Lead Teacher in Assessment for Learning involves attending and contributing to many school cluster workshops and demonstrating a sustained focus on raising the achievement standards of a group of students. Having Certificated Lead Teachers in the Assessment for Learning programme at St Cuthbert’s is a valuable asset, giving us the ability to internally maintain the practice in the College.


Mr Ian Torrie – Head of Chemistry

Teacher Ian Torrie has won a slew of awards in his 20 years teaching at the College, most recently the NEiTA Excellence in Teaching Award in 2014.


In 2013 Ian was presented with the Independent Schools of New Zealand Service to Chemistry Leadership in New Zealand Award and in 2000 he won a prestigious award usually reserved for university lecturers – the Royal Society of NZ Science & Technology Bronze.


He has previously been named New Zealand Science Teacher of the Year and also received the New Zealand Institute of Chemistry Denis Hogan Chemical Education Award in 2009.


Ian is a mentor to his peers and committed to sharing his expertise. He produces a regular e-newsletter for more than 500 Chemistry teachers throughout the country, providing information, resources and discussion on a range of issues affecting the industry.


Mr Martin Ball – Art Teacher

Martin Ball was shortlisted for the 2010 Archibald Prize – the fourth time he has been a finalist for this popular, prestigious Australian portraiture prize.


“It’s a great thrill to get into the show as it’s such a prestigious event and to have work showing at a major international venue like the Art Gallery of New South Wales is wonderful.”


More recently he was selected as a finalist for the Adam Portraiture Award 2014. St Cuthbert’s College is delighted to have an artist of his calibre and eminence on the teaching staff.


Ms Louise Tourelle – Director of Drama

Louise Tourelle has won the Best Director Award at Showdown – the awards scheme run by Auckland Community Theatre Trust to recognise secondary school productions – for her work on the Year 13 drama production, Top Girls.


“For a drama to win against the musicals is good, but in the end it’s all about the talent,” says Louise. “I dedicated my award to my cast.”


Mrs Vicky Binedell – Mathematics Teacher

Mathematics teacher Vicky Binedell was awarded one of only twelve teaching accolades at the NEiTA Excellence in Teaching and Leadership Awards in 2008. Unbeknown to Vicky, a student nominated her for the award and she won from 270 nominees.


The NEiTA Excellence in Teaching and Leadership Awards aim to promote public acknowledgment of the teaching profession and particularly honour those who show excellence and commitment.


At the official awards ceremony Vicky delivered a presentation titled “Cetaceans, debris, students and statistics”, covering statistics of the seemingly unrelated topics of whale strandings, marine debris, student involvement in statistics and statistics as a subject.


Independent Schools of New Zealand Honours Award recipients at St Cuthbert’s College include:

Mr Francis Bryden – Service to Teaching

Mrs Mary Robinson – Teaching of Social Sciences

Mrs Jan Walls – Service to Teaching

Mr Ian Torrie – Service to Chemistry Leadership in New Zealand

Mrs Lisa Mave – Service to History