St Cuthbert’s Teacher Honoured

23 May 2014


On Wednesday in the Grand Hall at Parliament the National Excellence in Teaching Awards (NEiTA) were presented by the Minister of Education the Hon. Hekia Parata to outstanding teachers from each of the regions; in the secondary section the Auckland region winner was Head of Chemistry Mr Ian Torrie. Students of Mr Torrie’s know what an wonderful teacher he is and will be in no doubt about his passion for chemistry.


It was this commitment to helping students to master the challenges of chemistry, to build confidence in their capacity and to consider continuing with science as long as possible, as well as a commitment to helping people  throughout New Zealand build capacity as chemistry teachers that led to this award. Mr Torrie is always the first person to acknowledge the team he works with; in particular, Head of Science Dr Jan Gifney, and says he is fortunate to have great colleagues to work alongside. Mr Torrie’s nomination was supported by people across the College,  including parents and students. A number of College staff have received ISNZ awards and Mrs Vicky Binedell has also been recognized by the NEiTA awards.


Students and parents can nominate any staff member for the NEiTA awards and for the ISNZ awards – it is a fantastic thing to do and staff value the tangible evidence of the regard in which they are held by College families. If you would like to nominate a teacher who has made a difference for your daughter please contact Mrs Jude Pointon on jude.pointon for the nomination forms.