Academic results

2018 Highlights

2018 has seen our Year 13 students achieve a stunning 99.2% Level 3 and University Entrance pass rate, a record number of scholarships, and impressive results across both the National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) and the International Baccalaureate (IB) qualifications.

International Baccalaureate 

Our IB results continue to be outstanding. The IB Top Scholars’ Awards are awarded to students who have attained 40 or more points in their Diploma out of a possible maximum score of 45. Students who score 40 or higher are placed in the top 8% of IB students globally. This year, we are pleased to announce that eight of our IB students were awarded Top Scholar awards: Julie Lin, Sophia Yi, Linda Wang, Georgia Warwick, Christine Liu, Kacy Zhou, Emma Pitt, and Olivia Donaldson.

NCEA Results 

Similarly, our 2018 NCEA results across all levels are exceptional, and our girls continue to achieve near perfect pass rates.  Significantly, at Level 1, 94% of students received an endorsement of Excellence or Merit, with an overall pass rate of 98.1%. At Level 2, 90.7% of girls achieved Excellence or Merit endorsements, with an overall pass rate of 98.3%. At Level 3, just under 87% achieved Excellence or Merit, with an impressive 100% pass rate.

Each year, the New Zealand Qualifications Authority identifies the highest-achieving scholar in individual subjects.  These students are acknowledged in a special awards ceremony with the Prime Minister, and for the second year in a row, a St Cuthbert’s girl has been awarded the Top Scholar award in Design.  I would like to congratulate Stella Swney for receiving this prestigious honour, and to make a special mention of her teacher, Deborah Cullinane, who has now supported three girls to achieve the Top Scholar’s award in Design during her time at St Cuthbert’s.


In 2018, St Cuthbert’s girls obtained an impressive number of 89 NZQA scholarships. Two of our 2018 Year 13 students, Raewyn Huang and Annie Sun, won four and five scholarships respectively, and were both awarded the prestigious title of NZQA Outstanding Scholar.